Canadian Wheat Board.—The Board was incorporated under the Canadian Wheat Board Act to market, in an orderly manner, in the interprovincial and export trade, grain grown in Canada. Its powers include authority to buy, take delivery of, store, transfer, sell, ship or otherwise dispose of grain. Except as directed by the Governor in Council, the Board was not originally authorized to buy grain other than wheat, but since Aug. 1, 1949, it may also buy oats and barley. Only grain produced in the designated area, which includes Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and parts of British Columbia and Ontario, is purchased by the Board, which controls the delivery of grain into elevators and railway cars in that area as well as the interprovincial movement and export of wheat, oats and barley generally. The Board is governed by its own Act of incorporation (see footnote, p. 104). It reports to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation.—This Corporation was incorporated by Act of Parliament (R.S.C. 1952, c. 46) in December 1945 to administer the National Housing Acts, Under the National Housing Act, 1954 (2-3 Eliz. II, c. 23, as amended 1956, c. 9, and 1957–58, c. 18), the Corporation insures mortgage loans made by approved lenders for home ownership and rental housing, makes direct loans, provides home improvement and rental guarantees, undertakes jointly with provincial governments the assembly of land and the construction of housing projects, conducts housing research, encourages community planning and owns and manages rental housing units built for war workers and veterans. The Corporation also arranges for and supervises the construction of housing projects on behalf of the Department of National Defence. The Corporation is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Public Works.

Crown Assets Disposal Corporation.—This Corporation is established under the Surplus Crown Assets Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 260) and is subject to the Financial Administration Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 116). In June 1944 War Assets Corporation was established by statute to replace War Assets Corporation Limited which had been incorporated in 1943. In 1949 the name of War Assets Corporation was changed to Crown Assets Disposal Corporation. The Corporation's function is to dispose of surplus Crown assets. It is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Defence Production.

Defence Construction (1951) Limited.—This Company was established by Letters Patent in 1951 to take over the general undertakings of Defence Construction Limited. The Company carries out all defence construction with the exception of houses and airfield runways and is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Defence Production.

Director of Soldier Settlement and Director of the Veterans' Land Act.—The Director of Soldier Settlement (under the Act of 1919) is also the Director of the Veterans' Land Act, and in either capacity is legally a corporation sole. For administrative purposes however the programs carried on under both Acts constitute integral parts of the services provided by the Department of Veterans Affairs.

Dominion Coal Board.—The Board, established in 1947 by the Dominion Coal Board Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 86), has the responsibility of studying and recommending to the Government policies concerning the production, import, distribution and use of coal. The Chairman has the status of a deputy minister and the Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Mines and Technical Surveys. The Board administers transportation and other subventions relating to coal, including those under the Atlantic Provinces Power Development Act (1958, c. 25). It also administers loans authorized under the Maritime Coal Production Assistance Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 173). The Dominion Coal Board Act makes provision for the regulation and control of the production, distribution and use of fuel in time of national emergency.

Eastern Rockies Forest Conservation Board.—The Board was appointed in 1947 under the Eastern Rocky Mountain Forest Conservation Act which authorized an agreement between the Government of Canada and the Province of Alberta relating to the protection and conservation of the forests of that area of the eastern slope of the Rocky Mountains which forms part of the watershed of the Saskatchewan River. The function of the Board is to plan, supervise and undertake construction, operation and maintenance of projects and facilities necessary for the proper protection of the forests of the area to obtain the greatest possible flow of water in the Saskatchewan River and its tributaries.

During the first seven years of the agreement, the Federal Government undertook to provide \$6,300,000 for capital expenditure and Alberta to provide funds for maintenance expenditures. During the period of capital expenditure the Federal Government agreed to appoint the chairman and one member and the province one member. After the capital period the arrangement was that the Federal Government appoint one member and that the Government of Alberta appoint two members and name one of the three as chairman. This latter arrangement became effective on Apr. I, 1955, and the Province of Alberta is now responsible for all future capital and maintenance costs of this area. Under a further amendment made in 1957, an undertaking by the Federal Government to share in certain forest fire fighting costs was deleted, and upon termination of the agreement all property acquired by the Board is to belong to the province. The Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources. (See footnote, p. 104.)